Suffolk churches: concerts and events

As part of my project to play the cello in all of Suffolk’s medieval churches, I am giving fundraising concerts and playing at church fundraising events around the county (and a few just over the border!). I am also available for weddings, funerals and other events. If you would like a fundraising concert at your village church, or cello music for a service or other church event, please contact me.

I am also now offering cello lessons to adults; please contact me.

UPCOMING CONCERTS AND EVENTS

2019
Concerts in Whitton, Akenham, Thornham Parva, South Cove, Newton, Cowlinge, Brundish, Chattisham, Higham (nr Bury), Rede and Sudbury (St Gregory’s) churches are also planned. Dates and details will be posted here as they are confirmed.

Saturday 30th March, 2pm. Concert in Hepworth church with Kirbye Voices.

Tuesday 16th April, 12 noon. Recital in Walsham le Willows church with James Recknell (piano).
Programme: Bach Viola da Gamba sonata no. 1 in G major, Debussy cello sonata and Martinu Slovak Variations.

Saturday 27th April, 6pm. Blythburgh church. Concert with Bristol Chamber Choir. Movements from Bach C major cello suite.

Sunday 28th April, 4pm. Kettlebaston church. Concert with Bristol Chamber Choir. Repeat of 27th April.

Saturday 11th May, 7pm. Concert in Gazeley church with James Recknell (piano).

Sunday 19th May, 3pm. Concert in Thornham Parva church with Sheida Davis (cello) in memory of Mandy Summers. Bach: cello suite no. 3 in C major; Barriere: Sonata for two cellos; Klengel: Suite for two cellos; Albeniz: Sevilla.

LONDON Sunday 9th June, 7pm. St James’ church, Prebend Street, London, N1. Solo cello concert including music by Telemann, Bach, Walton, Prokofiev and Bloch. Further details and tickets will soon be available at www.islingtonproms.com

Saturday 15th June, 6pm. Concert in St Stephen’s Chapel, Bures.

Saturday 29th June (evening). Concert in Raydon church with Neil Carlson (oboe), Steve Lock (bassoon) and James Recknell (piano).

Thursday 4th July, 7.30pm. The Guildhall, Bury St Edmunds. Concert with Kirbye Voices.

Saturday 6th July, 7pm. Concert in Hartest church (repeat of 4th July).

Tuesday 9th July, 7.30pm Concert in St Mary’s church, Newmarket with James Recknell (piano).

Sunday 28th July, 4pm. Concert in Aldringham church.

Saturday 7th September (evening). Concert in Tuddenham (near Bury) church.

Sunday 29th September, 3pm. Cello recital in Rushmere St Andrew church with James Recknell (piano).

Saturday 2nd November, 3pm. Concert in Great Livermere church with Swyft Singers. Music to include the Monteverdi Mass and Bach cello suite movements.

Read more